[ENG] 10.3.2016 GFF – MC Lee Seunggi Talks Special Forces Parachute Training, Fan Letters and Calling His Parents

Seunggi talks Special Forces parachute training and military service allowing him the opportunity to conquer and overcome certain things such as fear of heights♡


English: LSGfan, Video: SwordSummit

LSG: Actually people may be seeing this Special Forces (Special Warfare Command) uniform in real-life for the first time. This is the uniform for Special Forces soldiers.  A Special Forces soldier is basically executive/management oriented… so the fit is good.

ET: I’m also curious (reaching for Seunggi’s uniform airborne patch), this has a parachute image. What is this?

LSG: This is a under the Special Forces command. Meaning, when the ‘Special Forces’ name is included, anyone in order to be acknowledged as a soldier… we call it airborne training, right? You wear a parachute and come down…

ET: You jump from the sky, right?

LSG: Yes, from the sky. Actually, I’m even scared to go on the Viking ride, and when I was first assigned to the Special Forces unit… I asked if I could change, since I have acrophobia (fear of heights) that I don’t think I could jump from the sky. But they were like ‘what kind of craziness is that?!’ hahaha.

ET: For soldiers it is about order and law.

LSG: Yes it’s all training for soldiers…

ET: However, seeing Lee Seunggi like this, although you were awesome in the public eye, I feel like this has made you an even more awesome person.

LSG: You are correct. Honestly, if I was outside of this, I wouldn’t have been challenged in this area but due to the Army Special Forces motto ‘Make the Impossible Possible,’ I feel this time is allowing me to conquer and overcome certain things.

ET: Ah, let’s wish Private First Class Lee Seunggi that he diligently and safely complete his remaining service time and give him warm applause! (hehehe Seunggi lifting his arms ala Rocky victory style to cheers^^) Ahhh you are cool.

LSG: Thank you. Ahhh would you like to join the Special Forces unit?  Like our Special Forces camp or something?

ET: (laughing) ahhh no that’s okay!

LSG: Awww it’s really not that badㅋㅋㅋㅋ

 

Compilation of Seunggi MC-ing afternoon concert with Eteuk~ Seunggi talks girl groups… ya know girl and group lol; reading more than 14,300 of the 15,000 fan letters he received! And how during his 3 minute opportunity to use the phone from the army, his parents never picked up, nor did others… because it was a public un-listed number lol.

English: LSGfan, Video: ASIATODAY 아시아투데이

LSG: Actually, it was difficult to have him here today. Despite being busy, for the Ground Forces Festival and to support Super Junior members… what does it feel like being in this kind of atmosphere after a long time?

ET: To be back in this type of environment, I couldn’t have even dreamed it! Not only our Super Junior members, but also Dongbangshinki Yunho and Lee Seunggi here… I thought why don’t I come and help out.

LSG: Oh so you took the initiative…?

ET: Even if I don’t receive anything for this…

LSG: True, you didn’t receive anything?

ET: Definitely nothing.

LSG: Didn’t you have some lunch?

ET: Just a hamburger. But really nothing.

LSG: Once again, thanks for being here. And let’s really happily host this afternoon concert.

ET: I understand there are many here from abroad. And really protecting Korea are our soldiers, and they really have special talents too. So together as one with everyone here, we hope you will enjoy this time together.

(at 1:06~ Seunggi even more awesome now as a Special Forces soldier and overcoming certain aspects in his life♡)

ET: However, seeing Lee Seunggi like this, although you were awesome in the public eye, I feel like this has made you an even more awesome person.

LSG: You are correct. Honestly, if I was outside of this, I wouldn’t have been challenged in this area but due to the Army Special Forces motto ‘Make the Impossible Possible,’ I feel this time is allowing me to conquer and overcome certain things.

ET: Ah, let’s wish Private First Class Lee Seunggi that he diligently and safely complete his remaining service time and give him warm applause! (hehehe Seunggi lifting his arms ala Rocky victory style to cheers^^) Ahhh you are cool.

LSG: Thank you. Ahhh would you like to join the Special Forces unit?  Like our Special Forces camp or something?

ET: (laughing) ahhh no that’s okay!

LSG: Awww it’s really not that badㅋㅋㅋㅋ

(at 1:39~ Seunggi talks ‘girl’ and ‘group,’ reading fan letters, and his parents not picking up his phone call because it was a public non-listed number lol)

ET: There are a lot of citizens here today… for soldiers, what is the biggest strength to them?

LSG: For soldiers, the biggest strength has to be… well, probably girl groups?

ET: Oh girl groups… (ET seems disappointed at Seunggi’s answer)

LSG: Why, what were you wanting me to say?!

ET: Well, honestly, for Lee Seunggi… I’m sure a lot of fans wrote you a lot of fan letters too… (ha Seunggi turns to wave to the fans lol)

LSG: I’m sorry~ but you know, fans are girl groups too… you know, girls and group~ (hahahahaha)

ET: I was thinking, you would say fan letters~! (Seunggi cracks up laughing! oy bad Seunggi lol)

LSG: Ah~ I was reading all the fan letters, honestly, they had sent so many.

ET: Honestly, wasn’t that a big strength to you?

LSG: Really, during my training camp, it was the biggest strength!  During my training, at Nonsan Training Camp, I received 15,000 letters.

ET: (to fans) You all wrote letters, right?

LSG: Really, it would be a lie to say I read all 15,000 letters (awww Seunggi always honest^^), but I read more than 14,300 letters.

ET: Must of been a real big strength!

LSG: Really, I didn’t sleep and I just read the letters. (Awwwww~)

ET: For me, there was a fan that had sprayed perfume on a letter. And when you’re in training, you can’t wear perfume but it smelled so good, I rubbed it on myself without even realizing it.

LSG: When you enter training, they say that you put the cover over yourself and cry a lot and write letters… now I get why they said that. (Awwwwww Seunggi)

ET: When Seunggi first talked to your parents from the army, did you shed tears?

LSG: My parents didn’t answer my phone call (omg puahahaha!!!) Maybe because it was an unlisted number, but they didn’t answer. Now they’re unable to get calls… At first, you get 3 minutes, if you work hard. So for 3 minutes, I just called around here and there and then hung up.  No one answered. As it was a public (non-listed) phone. (awwww I would’ve missed Seunggi’s call if he called me too… I never answer phone calls from unlisted or unknown phone numbersㅠㅠㅠㅠ)

LSG: Oh that is a helicopter flying above us… when we received airborne training, the Chinook helicopter. In Descendants of the Sun, the helicopter Song Joongki came down from was the Chinook.

(at 3:40~ Seunggi talks cold weather in the army)

ET: The weather is really hot today, no?

LSG: The way I see it, I feel I need to say this… they said it would be torrential downpours for 2 days, so we prepare a bunch of things in case of rain, and I don’t see a drop of rain.

ET: The heavens have been kind to the Ground Forces Festival and the audience…. everyone, it’s hot isn’t it? Actually, when I was in the army, they categorized army weather the following way: hot, very hot, cold, and very cold.

LSG: Yes, there’s a lot of coldness for the heart. (lol) Doesn’t matter how many layers of clothes you wear, it’s super cold.

ET: Seunggi~ I was noticing that it’s the 14th year of the Ground Forces Festival this year. I heard that it is the biggest street festival in the world… how long will this event run?

LSG: We opened the festival yesterday and it will go on until the 6th.

ET: There are many people here today… coming here with your friends and family, seeing how the soldiers live and experience their training…

LSG: Correct. Able to see how strong our soldiers are, we’ve prepared a lot through various events, not just these concerts but there’s a lot to experience. So please spare your time and please enjoy everything.

 

Seunggi deals with malfunctioning mic… like a total pro!

Their mics stop working. whoa this is just like the rehearsal run-through they did few days before this! Seunggi waving to the audience to keep things going^^ tries talking into mic again; doesn’t work. Fans start chanting~ ‘it’s okay! it’s okay!’ to which Seunggi cheers along with them^^

omg new mics are brought to them, but these don’t work either omg. at 0:48~ Seunggi’s momentary exasperated expression to which audience laughs and he signals it’s okay^^

Since the mic guys are still not showing up, Seunggi makes executive decision to just yell out that the next act will come on stage and motions applause from the audience. Such a total pro! now that’s how you deal with a malfunctioning mic!

you’re seriously amazing Seunggi~~~~!!! seriously. love ya. really a lot.

 

One Response

  1. Thanks for your English translation. I’ve used it for the Hungarian translation and I linked your page as a resource.

Leave a Reply

